I’ve been noticing a lot of double comments. Is there some sort of a hang-up? I was told last week there was a glitch, but that it’d been fixed. Seems to me a lot of people are having to submit and then re-submit comments. I’m having no such trouble, but I enter comments differently, hence my cluelessness.
As for the replay rules, allow me to take a little more time here. I said Stewart has one “win or lose,” but that wasn’t as clear as I intended. I meant he gets one at the outset and can hang onto that one if he wins a challenge. I guess that’s two, but you don’t “win”Â a second — or third — challenge if you’re right. If he wins, he gets that challenge back, but for one time only. If he loses, he can’t challenge later in the game. It’s always completely subjective, which is why I think he hasn’t challenged on those opening drives.
Here’s the rule lifted from the rulebook:
Head Coachâ€™s Challenge (Rule 12-5-1-b). A new rule expands the ability of a head coach to challenge a reviewable ruling on the field. The head coach now retains a challenge if his initial challenge is successful and thus results in a reversal by the replay official. The coach will then still have a single challenge that he may use anytime during the game if his team has not used all its timeouts. Thus a team may have a total of two challenges in the game, but only if the first results in a reversal of the on-field ruling.