Inside Marshall Sports

Conference USA award candidates

I am honored to receive a vote for the Conference USA awards. Right now, I am merely listing all-conference candidates by team, and designating possible first-teamers. I will be voting for 5 each on a first-, second- and third team.

I have said my piece about Player of the Year in my column of Tuesday morning, February 20.

I have listed 18 for the 15 spots, but could consider a few more:

Marshall — Jon Elmore, C.J. Burks, Ajdin Penava

Western Kentucky — Justin Johnson, Darius Thompson

Old Dominion — B.J. Stith, Ahmad Caver

Middle Tennessee — Nick King, Giddy Potts

UTSA — Jhivvan Jackson

UAB — Chris Cokley

FIU — Brian Beard Jr.

FAU — Ronald Delph

La Tech — Jacobi Boykins

North Texas — Ryan Woolridge, Roosevelt Smart

Southern Miss — Tyree Griffin

Player of the Year
For players who stand out above and beyond, I am looking at Elmore, Burks, King. With 3 (MTSU) or 4 (MU) games left, I laid out my views on the topic in a Tuesday throwdown.

All-Freshman Team
I am decreeing that 3 of 5 of my votes will be traditional freshmen, i.e., having played in an “ordinary” high school in 2016-17. I feel such players should be rewarded as much as possible. (I did 4 of 5 last year.)

With that, I list all freshmen who take any spot on the stat rankings. “Traditional” freshman (including those from private schools in player’s area) marked with an *:

UTSA — Jhivvan Jackson* (prohibitive favorite for Freshman of Year; public school)

WKU — Taveion Hollingsworth* (public school)

UAB — Zack Bryant (attended Providence School, Jacksonville; hometown Hastings, Florida)

Rice — Malik Osborne (attended Don Bosco Prep, Indiana)

La Tech — Amorie Archibald* (Trinity Christian Academy, Deltona, Florida, from where he hails)

UTEP — Evan Gilyard* (native of Chicago, attended Simeon Career Academy in that city), Kobe Magee (public school)*, Trey Wade (2016-17 NQ)

Marshall — Jarrod West* (Notre Dame, Clarksburg), Jannson Williams (2016-17 redshirt)

Southern Miss — Ladavious Draine* (public school)

North Texas — Zachary Simmons* (public school)

Charlotte — Milos Supica (Serbia native, high school on North Carolina)